JANUARY 2, 2024 @ 7:00 P.M.

This meeting was also recorded via Zoom

- 1. Meeting called to order by Myra Whatley at 7:15
- 2. Pledge of allegiance
- 3. Public Comment
 - Tom Newhart-COG representative replacement
 - Steve Yerger-gratefulness for new board
- Call for Nomination for Chair Supervisor Mazer moved to nominate Supervisor Demas to serve as Chair, seconded by Supervisor Yerger. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.
- 5. Call for Nomination for Vice Chairman Supervisor McCauslin moved to nominate Supervisor Mazer to serve as Vice Chair. Supervisor Mazer respectfully declined. Supervisor Mazer moved to nominate Supervisor Yingling as Vice Chair, seconded by Supervisor Yerger. Motion carried unanimously.
- 6. Chair Comments Chairman Demas spoke about the transparency and accountability that will be pursued in this new board. Communication will be key to our improvement. All supervisors will be given the opportunity to participate fully. She encouraged all citizens to continue to be part of the processes to improve our community.
- 7. Staff Appointments by Omnibus Motion

Roadmaster – Dave Williams Interim Township Secretary – Sandy Yerger Township Treasurer – Bruce Hartman Assistant Township Treasurer – Myra Whatley Emergency Management Coordinator – Kim Birckhead

Supervisor Mazer moved, seconded by Supervisor McCauslin, to approve all staff appointments. Motion carried, unanimously.

8. Hire David Rodkey for part time Road crew at \$20/hr, starting January 3rd, discussion and vote

Supervisor Mazer moved, seconded by Supervisor Yingling to approve the hiring of Mr Rodkey. Motion carried, unanimously.

9. Contractor Appointments by Omnibus Motion

Township Engineering Firm with current fee schedule – Wm. F. Hill & Associates Township Engineer-Erik M. Vranich - Wm. F. Hill & Associates Township Sewage Enforcement Officer – Bryan Leese – Wm. F. Hill & Associates Township Assistant Sewage Enforcement Officer – Wm. F. Hill & Associates Township Traffic Engineering Firm with current fee schedule – Trans Associates Uniform Construction Code and Zoning – OPEN Township Auditors – Smith, Kearns, & Elliott (2nd Class Township Code Section 917(b)(1))

Supervisor Yerger moved, seconded by Supervisor Yingling, to accept all appointments for Contractors. Motion carried, unanimously.

10. Appointment of Solicitors - Discussion and vote

Township Solicitor – Supervisor Yerger moved, seconded by Supervisor McCauslin to approve Saltzmann Hughes as Township Solicitor. Motion carried, unanimously. Isaac Wakefield will be the assigned solicitor.

Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor – Supervisor Yerger moved to nominate Battersby Law as Solicitor. No second was given. Supervisor Mazer moved to nominate Dethiefs Pykosh & Murphy as Solicitor, seconded by Supervisor Yingling. Motion carried, unanimously. Michael Pykosh will be the assigned solicitor.

11. Board and Delegate Appointments by Omnibus Motion

Planning Board

- Kenneth Mutzabaugh 4 year term 2027
- Chris Burne 4 year term 2027

Zoning Board

• Jessica Kureth– 3 year term 2026

Agricultural Security Committee

• Chair – Chad Yingling

Delegates to the State Supervisors' Convention:

- Chairman and Vice-Chairman, with Chairman as the voting delegate
- Approval for three supervisors to attend the PSATS Conference in April 2024

Supervisor Yingling moved to remove from the omnibus motion, seconded by Supervisor Yerger, the Adams County COG representative for discussion. Motion carried, unanimously. Supervisor Yingling moved, seconded by Supervisor McCauslin, to approve the amended list for Appointments.

Adams County Council of Governments (COG) 1 year term 2024

Discussion of the COG position centered around the public comment that Mr Scholle would not be the best representative for the Township. Supervisor McCausliin nominated Supervisor Yerger to be representative. She accepted. Supervisor McCausliin moved, seconded by Supervisor Yingling, to approve the nomination. Motion carried, unanimously.

- 12. Ad Hoc committees were recognized. A Board Supervisor will leader each committee and each leader is encouraged to recruit community members to staff their committees.
 - Personnel Chairman Demas and Supervisor Yerger
 - Finance Chairman Demas
 - ARPA Supervisor McCauslin
 - Safety (Fire, EMC) Vice Chair, Yingling
 - Mud College Supervisor Yerger
 - Historic Preservation Supervisor Mazer
- 13. Financial Appointments by Omnibus Motion
 - Depository Banks Truist, ACNB and Pennsylvania Investment Trust
 - Auditors' Compensation Rate \$10.00/hr.

Supervisor Yerger moved, seconded by Supervisor McCauslin, to approve Financial Appointments. Motion carried, unanimously.

14. Operations by Omnibus Motion

Establish: Supervisors' Meeting Day and Time

- 2nd Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Workshop Meeting
- 3rd Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. Regular Meeting

Establish Office Hours of Operation to public

Monday thru Thursday 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. Friday 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Establish Sixteen 2024 Holidays (Office Closed)

Monday January 1 – New Year's Day Monday January 15 – Martin Luther King Day Monday February 19 – President's Day Friday March 29 – Good Friday Monday May 27 – Memorial Day Wednesday June 19 - Juneteenth Thursday July 2 – Independence Day

Monday September 2 – Labor Day Monday October 14 – Columbus Day Monday November 11 – Veteran's Day Thursday November 28 – Thanksgiving Day Friday November 29 – Day after Thanksgiving Tuesday December 24 - Christmas Eve Wednesday December 25 – Christmas Day Tuesday December 31 – New Year's Eve 2024 Wednesday January 1 2025 – New Year's Day

Supervisor Mazer noted that he is not able to make a 2nd Thursday for Workshop Meetings. Discussion led to substituting the 4th Thursday for Workshop Meetings. Approval of the stated hours for the office was tabled as consideration of how the position of Secretary will be filled will dictate office hours. Hours will continue unchanged as stated on website till a permanent secretary can be hired. Supervisor Mazer moved to approve the 3rd Thursday as Supervisors' meeting and 4th Thursday as Workshop Meeting and the holidays as listed. Supervisor Yingling seconded. Motion carried, unanimously.

15. Resolutions by Omnibus Motion

Resolutions:

- #1 Administrative Fee Schedule
- #2 Fee Schedule for Septic Haulers
- #3 Bills Payment
- #4 Financial Authorization: Demas, Yerger, Treasurer, and Asst Treasurer
- #5 Depositories Designation: ACNB, Truist, Pennsylvania Local Government Investment Trust
- #6 Electronic Access Agreement: Chair, Treasurer, Asst Treasurer
- *#*7 Delegates to Adams County Tax Collection Committee: Demas, Yerger
- #8 Representative and Alternate Representative to the York Adams Tax Bureau: Demas, Yerger

Supervisor Yerger moved, Supervisor Mazer seconded, to approve the Resolutions. motion passed, unanimously.

16. Supervisor Mazer moved to adjourn the meeting, supervisor Yerger seconded. Motion passed, unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 8pm

Respectfully submitted by

Sandy Yerger, Interim Secretary