Mount Joy Township Supervisors' Supervisors' Organization Meeting January 5, 2015

Meeting Minutes

Present: John Gormont, Chairman; David Updyke, Vice-Chair; Gil Clark; Bradley Trostle; Sheri Moyer, Secretary

The Mount Joy Township Board of Supervisors met this date, as publicly advertised, at the Mount Joy Township Building located at 902 Hoffman Home Rd., Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.

Call to Order: John Gormont, presiding.

Starting Time: 7:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

Organize:

- Call for Nomination of Temporary Chairman: Mr. Gormont moved, seconded by Mr. Trostle, to nominate Mr. Updyke as Temporary Chairman. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.
- Call for Nomination of Temporary Secretary: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Gormont, to nominate Ms. Moyer as Temporary Secretary. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.

Nominations:

- Nomination of Chairman of the Board of Supervisors: Mr. Clark moved, seconded by Mr. Updyke, to nominate Mr. Gormont as Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.
- Nomination of Vice-Chairman of the Board of Supervisors: Mr. Clark moved, seconded by Mr. Gormont, to nominate Mr. Updyke as Vice-Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.

Appointments:

- Secretary: Mr. Gormont moved, seconded by Mr. Updyke, to appoint Ms. Moyer as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.
- Treasurer: Mr. Gormont moved, seconded by Mr. Updyke, to appoint Mr. Hartman as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.
- Treasurer's Bond: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Clark, to establish a Treasurer's bond in the amount of \$1,000,000 for Mr. Hartman as Township Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 1 Appointments by Omnibus Motion:

- Roadmaster Bradley Shank
- Zoning/Code Enforcement Officer Cindy Smith
- Emergency Management Coordinator Donald Yingling
- Drug & Alcohol Administrator Sheri Moyer
- Right to Know Officer Sheri Moyer

- Planning Commission Secretary Sheri Moyer
- Ag Land Preservation Coordinator/Secretary Sheri Moyer
- Zoning Hearing Board Secretary Sheri Moyer
- Elected Auditors Crilley, Waybright & Chantelau

Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Clark, to approve Group 1 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 2 Appointments by Omnibus Motion:

- Township Engineering Firm with current fee schedule Wm. F. Hill
- Township Solicitor Susan Smith, Esquire with current fee schedule
- Township Sewage Enforcement Officer Bryan Leese Wm. F. Hill
- Township Assistant Sewage Enforcement Officer Wm. F. Hill
- Township Traffic Engineering Firm with current fee schedule Trans Associates
- Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor Joseph Kalasnik, Esquire with current fee schedule
- Vacancy Board Chairman Ken Sanders
- Township Alternate Solicitor Joseph Kalasnik, Esquire
- Zoning Hearing Board Alternate Solicitor Susan Smith, Esquire
- Township Auditors Smith, Kearns, & Elliott

Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Trostle, to approve Group 2 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 3 by Omnibus Motion:

• Supervisors' Sub-committee/Liaison Appointments

Personnel Trostle & Updyke Finance Gormont & Updyke

Liaison

Planning, Land use & Zoning
Building & Grounds
Public Safety
Roads
Bowman
Clark
Clark
Gormont

Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Clark, to approve Group 3 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Appointments:

- Red Rock Municipal Authority (1) Gil Clark: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Trostle, to appoint Mr. Clark to the Red Rock Municipal Authority. Motion carried unanimously.
- White Run Municipal Authority (1) Nina Dolly: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Clark, to reaffirm the appointment of Nina Dolly to the White Run Municipal Authority. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 4 by Omnibus Motion:

- **Select:** Depository Banks Susquehanna
- **Set:** Financial Bond amount for those Supervisors who are authorized to sign checks as follows:

John Gormont and David Updyke in the amount of \$1,000,000

• **Set:** Auditors' Compensation Rate - \$10.00/hr.

• **Establish:** Supervisors' Meeting Day and Time

1st Thursday at 7:00 p.m. Workshop Meeting

3rd Thursday at 7:00 p.m. Regular Meeting

• Certify: Designate delegates to the State Supervisors' Convention as follows:

John Gormont and Dave Updyke with John Gormont the voting delegate

• **Set:** Hours of Operation

Monday, Wednesday, & Friday 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. and Tuesday & Thursday 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

- **Set:** Pay rates/plan (No pay changes scheduled at this time)
- **Set:** 2015 Holidays

Thursday January 1st – New Year's Day

Monday February 16th – President's Day

Friday April 3th – Good Friday

Monday May 25th – Memorial Day

Friday July 3th – Independence Day

Monday September 7st – Labor Day

Wednesday November 11th – Veteran's Day

Thursday November 26th – Thanksgiving Day

Friday November 27th – Day after Thanksgiving

Thursday December 24th Christmas Eve Holiday

Friday December 25th – Christmas Day

Thursday December 31st – New Year's Eve

Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Clark, to approve Group 4 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 5 by Omnibus Motion:

• Other Business:

Resolutions:

- Fee Schedule
- Pay Bills
- Financial Authorization
- Electronic Access Agreement
- Delegates to AC Tax Collection Committee
- Fee Schedule for Septic Haulers
- Delegates to YATB Committee

Mr. Clark moved, seconded by Mr. Updyke, to approve Group 5 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Business:

- 2014 Financial Report: Mr. Clark moved, seconded by Mr. Updyke, to approve the 2014 year-end financial report with a balance of \$1,023,530.69 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.
- Authorize attendance at the PSATS Conference: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Trostle, to approve Mr. Gormont's attendance at the PSATS conference. Motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment: None.

Adjournment: With no further business to be discussed by the Board, Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Clark, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 7:14 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Sheri L. Moyer Secretary