Mount Joy Township Supervisors' Organization Meeting January 7, 2019

Meeting Minutes

Present: John Gormont, Chairman; David Updyke, Vice-Chairman; Jeffrey Patterson; Terry

Scholle; Sheri Moyer, Secretary

Absent: Dennis Bowman

The Mount Joy Township Board of Supervisors met this date, as publicly advertised, at the Mount Joy Township Building located at 902 Hoffman Home Rd., Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.

Call to Order: John Gormont, presiding.

Starting Time: 7:02 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

Organize:

- Call for Nomination of Temporary Chairman: Mr. Patterson moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to nominate Mr. Updyke, as Temporary Chairman. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.
- Call for Nomination of Temporary Secretary: Mr. Gormont moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson, to nominate Ms. Moyer as Temporary Secretary. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.

Nominations:

- Nomination of Chairman of the Board of Supervisors: Mr. Scholle moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson, to nominate Mr. Gormont as Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.
- Nomination of Vice-Chairman of the Board of Supervisors: Mr. Scholle moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson, to nominate Mr. Updyke as Vice-Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. With no further nominations, motion carried unanimously.

Appointments:

- Secretary: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson, to appoint Ms. Moyer as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.
- Treasurer: Mr. Patterson moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to appoint Mr. Hartman as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.
- Treasurer's Assistant: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson, to reaffirm the appointment of Ms. Zirkle as Treasurer Assistant. Motion carried unanimously.
- Treasurer's Bond: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to establish a Treasurer's bond in the amount of \$1,000,000 for Mr. Hartman as Township Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 1 Appointments by Omnibus Motion:

- Roadmaster Bradley Shank
- Zoning/Code Enforcement Officer Shannon Hare
- Drug & Alcohol Administrator Sheri Moyer
- Right to Know Officer Sheri Moyer
- Planning Commission Secretary Sheri Moyer
- Ag Land Preservation Coordinator/Secretary Sheri Moyer
- Zoning Hearing Board Secretary Sheri Moyer
- Emergency Management Coordinator Dave Reaver

Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson, to approve Group 1 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 2 Appointments by Omnibus Motion:

- Township Engineering Firm with current fee schedule Wm. F. Hill
- Township Solicitor Susan Smith, Esquire with current fee schedule
- Township Sewage Enforcement Officer Bryan Leese Wm. F. Hill
- Township Assistant Sewage Enforcement Officer Wm. F. Hill
- Township Traffic Engineering Firm with current fee schedule Trans Associates
- Vacancy Board Chairman Ken Sanders
- Zoning Hearing Board Alternate Solicitor Susan Smith, Esquire
- Township Auditors Smith, Kearns, & Elliott
- UCC Land and Sea Services, LLC Wm. Slothour

Mr. Patterson moved, seconded by Mr. Updyke, to approve Group 2 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Committee Appointments:

- Planning Commission (1) Linda Spellman 4 year term ending 12/31/23: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to appoint Linda Spellman to the Planning Commission for a 4 year term ending 12/31/2023. Motion carried unanimously.
- Zoning Hearing Board (2) Bernie Mazer − 3 year term ending 12/31/2022 and Audre Weiland Zoning Hearing Board (Alternate) − 3 year term ending 12/31/2022: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to appoint Audre Weiland as Alternate to the Zoning Hearing Board for a 3 year term ending 12/31/2022 and Bernie Mazer to the Zoning Hearing Board for a 3 year term ending 12/31/2022. Motion carried unanimously.
- Red Rock Municipal Authority (1) Fred Lang 5 year term ending 12/31/2024: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to appoint Fred Lang to the Red Rock Municipal Authority for a 5 year term ending 12/31/2024. Motion carried unanimously.
- White Run Municipal Authority (1) vacancy 5 year term which expires 12/31/2023: The Township is currently seeking a volunteer for this committee.
- Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor Steve Stine, Esquire with current fee schedule: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson to appoint Steve Stine, Esquire with the current fee schedule, for the Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor. Motion carried unanimously.
- Township Alternate Solicitor Steve Stine Esquire: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson, to appoint Steve Stine, Esquire as the township alternate solicitor. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 3 by Omnibus Motion:

• **Select:** Depository Banks – BB&T and ACNB

• **Set:** Auditors' Compensation Rate - \$10.00/hr.

• **Establish:** Supervisors' Meeting Day and Time

1st Thursday at 7:00 p.m. Workshop Meeting 3rd Thursday at 7:00 p.m. Regular Meeting

• **Certify:** Designate delegates to the State Supervisors' Convention as follows:

John Gormont and Dave Updyke with John Gormont the voting delegate

• **Set:** Hours of Operation

Monday, Wednesday, & Friday 9:00 a.m. -12:00 p.m. and Tuesday & Thursday 1:00 p.m. -4:00 p.m.

• **Set:** 2019 Holidays

Tuesday January 1st – New Year's Day

Monday January 21st – Martin Luther King Day

Monday February 18th – President's Day

Friday April 19th – Good Friday

Monday May 27th – Memorial Day

Thursday July 4th – Independence Day

Monday September 2nd – Labor Day

Monday October 14th – Columbus Day

Monday November 11th – Veteran's Day

Thursday November 28th – Thanksgiving Day

Friday November 29th – Day after Thanksgiving

Tuesday December 24th – Christmas Eve Holiday

Wednesday December 25th – Christmas Holiday

• Supervisors' Sub-committee/Liaison Appointments

Personnel Patterson & Updyke Finance Gormont & Updyke

Public Safety Bowman

Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Patterson, to approve Group 3 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Group 4 by Omnibus Motion:

• Other Business:

Resolutions:

- Fee Schedule
- Fee Schedule for Septic Haulers
- Pay Bills
- Financial Authorization
- Depositories Designation
- Electronic Access Agreement
- Delegates to AC Tax Collection Committee
- Delegates to YATB Committee

• Disposition of Records

Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to approve Group 4 Omnibus Motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Business:

- Full time and regular part time employee Pay Rates: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to provide a 5% pay raise for all full and regular part time employees. Motion carried unanimously.
- 2018 Financial Report: Mr. Patterson moved, seconded by Mr. Updyke, to approve the 2018 year-end financial report as presented. Motion carried unanimously.
- Authorize attendance at the PSATS Conference: Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to authorize Mr. Gormont to attend the PSATS conference. Motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment: None.

Adjournment: With no further business to be discussed by the Board, Mr. Updyke moved, seconded by Mr. Scholle, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Sheri L. Moyer Secretary